Trondheim Soloists

The basics
Formed in 1988 as an ensemble for training young string players, Trondheim Soloists is a 16-piece string orchestra. Regular collaborators have included violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter, pianist Leif Ove Andsnes and a host of folk and rock musicians. They’ve also been nominated for three Grammy awards for their varied recordings.

Known for
Energy, spirit, lithe agility; an ensemble that grew from a group formed to give the brightest young musicians in town more chances to perform to a professional orchestra with all the blazing energy, versatility and openness its roots suggest. Their distinctively clear and open orchestral sound has been dubbed ‘The Trondheim Sound’.

Check out
...that sound, via their varied Grammy-nominated recordings.

Rosie Davies